They call me Deborah

People tend to get my name wrong. No one thinks that someone my age would be named Brenda. The most common response they give is ,”Oh my nan(or grandma) is named Brenda.” This proves the fact hat my parents didn’t put much thought in naming me.

When these people see me they tend to refer to me as Brittany or oddly enough, (and more commonly)Deborah. It doesn’t matter what country I am in… “Oh hey Deborah!” 

Even small children…

One day I had had enough and being slightly dramatic I asked God, ” Why God? Why Deborah? ”

“Because you are like Deborah…” Was the repsonse. “What?!? Oh! Bible Deborah..”

You see, I had previously been seeking God for another answer, one that was a little more serious. 

There are moments in my life when God brings a man into my life and puts them on my heart to pray for and encourage. Oversees this doesn’t seem to standout but being back in American church culture … I get some funny looks, comments and concerns from people around me.  Why is a single woman making an effort to encourage all these young men?

Here is a bit of Deborah’s story:

Now Deborah, a prophetess, the wife of Lappidoth, was judging Israel at that time. She used to sit under the palm of Deborah between Ramah and Bethel in the hill country of Ephraim, and the people of Israel came up to her for judgment. She sent and summoned Barak the son of Abinoam from Kedesh-naphtali and said to him, “Has not the Lord , the God of Israel, commanded you, ‘Go, gather your men at Mount Tabor, taking 10,000 from the people of Naphtali and the people of Zebulun. And I will draw out Sisera, the general of Jabin’s army, to meet you by the river Kishon with his chariots and his troops, and I will give him into your hand’?” Barak said to her, “If you will go with me, I will go, but if you will not go with me, I will not go.” And she said, “I will surely go with you. Nevertheless, the road on which you are going will not lead to your glory, for the Lord will sell Sisera into the hand of a woman.” Then Deborah arose and went with Barak to Kedesh.

Judges 4:4‭-‬9 ESV

Like Deborah, there are times when God has me to confirm what he is saying in someone’s life. “Has not the LORD…” 

Has not the Lord called you to give up your fear and doubt and to act on this command you feel in you heart?! 

Leave a Reply

